Handel: Messiah. Stephen Cleobury. King's College Choir and Orchestra. 1 DVD

92508 DVD

New product

 GF. Handel: Messiah. Lyne Dawson, Hillery Summers sings along with Kings College choir and orchestra will be conducted by Stephen Cleobury, in a recording from 1994.

1 DVD. Brilliant. 92508-9

More details

In Stock

0/5 - 0 reviews

79,20 kr

Data sheet

MediaDVD Audio

More info

Georg Frederich Handel: Messiah. (oratorio complete). Lyne Dawson, Hillery Summers sings along with Kings College choir and orchestra will be conducted by Stephen Cleobury, in a recording from 1994.

1 DVD. Brilliant. 92508-9


Messiah - George Frideric Handel
Handel’s ever popular work in an excellent Live performance with the world famous Choir of King’s College Cambridge, and soloists who have won their spurs in early music Lynne Dawson, Hillary Summers, John Mark Ainsley and Alastair Miles.
The Brandenburg Consort plays on original instruments under the direction of Stephen Cleobury.Filmed in the beautiful and athmospheric Pieterskerk in Leiden, The Netherlands.
Lynne Dawson • Hillary Summers • John Mark Ainsley • Alastair Miles
The Choir of King’s College Cambridge
Brandenburg consort
Stephen Cleobury, conductor
Messiah George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
1. Play All    
2. Sinfonia   3:02
3. Recitative-tenor: Comfort ye my people   2:51
4. Aria-tenor: Ev’ry valley shall be exalted   3:20
5. Chorus: And the glory, the glory of the Lord   2:51
6. Recitative-bass: Thus said the Lord   1:19
7. Aria-alto: But who may abide   4:04
8. Chorus: And He shall purify   2:29
9. Recitative-alto: Behold, a virgin shall conceive   0:23
10. Aria-alto & chorus: O thou that tellest   5:26
11. Recitative-bass: For behold, darkness shall come over the earth   2:01
12. Aria-bass: The people that walked in darkness   3:17
13. Chorus: For unto us a Child is born   4:04
14. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony):   2:30
15. Recitative-soprano: There were shepherds   0:30
16. Recitative-soprano: And the angels said unto them   0:31
17. Recitative-soprano: And suddenly there was with the angel   0:16
18. Chorus: Glory to God in the highest   1:52
19. Aria-soprano: Rejoice greatly, o daughter of Zion   4:16
20. Recitative-alto: Then shall the eyes of the blind   0:24
21. Aria & soprano: And he shall feed his flock   4:34
22. Chorus: His yoke is easy   2:20
23. Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God   2:21
24. Aria-alto: He was despised   9:50
25. Chorus: Surely he hath borne our grieves   1:42
26. Chorus: And with his stripes we are healed   1:47
27. Chorus: All we like sheep   3:43
28. Recitative-tenor: All they that see Him   0:40
29. Chorus: He trusted in God   2:18
30. Recitative-tenor: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart   1:48
31. Aria-tenor: Behold, and see if there be any sorrow   1:21
32. Recitative-tenor: He was cut off out of the land   0:17
33. Aria-soprano: But thou didst not leave   2:20
34. Chorus: Lift up your heads   2:58
35. Recitative-tenor: Unto which of the angels   0:18
36. Chorus: Let all the angels of God worship Him   1:27
37. Aria-alto: Thou art gone up on high   3:11
38. Chorus: The Lord gave the word   1:04
39. Aria-soprano: How beautiful are the feet   2:02
40. Chorus: Their sound is gone out   1:29
41. Aria-bass: Why do the nations?   1:25
42. Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder   1:43
43. Recitative-tenor: He that dwelleth in heaven   0:11
44. Aria-tenor: Thou shalt break them   1:58
45. Chorus: Hallelujah!   3:35
46. Aria-soprano: I know that my Redeemer liveth   5:47
47. Chorus: Since by man came death   2:02
48. Recitative-bass: Behold, I tell you a mystery   0:34
49. Aria-bass: The trumpet shall sound   8:30
50. Recitative-alto: Then shall be brought to pass   0:16
51. Duet alto & tenor: O death, where is thy sting?   1:02
52. Chorus: But thanks be to God   2:02
53. Aria-soprano: If God be for us   5:06
54. Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb... Amen   6:49
    Total:  136:00 
Lynne Dawson, soprano
Hillary Summers, alto
John Mark Ainsley, tenor
Alastair Miles, bass
Crispian Steele Perkins, trumpet
The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge
The Brandenburg Consort
Stephen Cleobury, conductor
Recording: LIVE RECORDING, 1994, Pieterskerk, Leiden, The Netherlands

dolby digital
Dolby and the double-D symbol are trademarks of Dolby Laboratories
Format 16:9 All Formats
Sound 5.1
all regions
Brilliant classics

ch. 1 format dolby digital type 5.1 surround
ch. 2 format dts type 5.1 surround
ch. 3 dolby digital 2.0 stereo 

Reviews (0)

No customer reviews for the moment.

Add Review

Customers who bought this product also bought:

30 other products in the same category: